The MEFTY Award

Each year a perpetual trophy (creatively carved from Tasmanian huon pine by Vic Sedunary) is presented to the orienteer who completes the most Park Street events in a StreetO year (start of Summer fixture to the end of Spring fixture). Eligible events are those listed in the official Park Street Orienteering fixture except Sunday events.

This award is titled The MEFTY Award (Most Events For The Year). Previous winners are honored below.

The 2021 MEFTY winners are Stuart McWilliam and Steven O’Connell; the first tie in MEFTY history.  Both completed 129 events between November 2020 and July 2021, in another covid-impacted season.  Peter Yeates attended 95 events,  just ahead of Lauris Stirling and Michael Hubbert, who both came to 93 events.

Year MEFTY Award Winner No. of events
2000  Peter Kempster 80
2001  Peter Kempster 91
2002  Geoff Hudson 95
2003  Judy Hopkins
2004  Reg Saunders 111
2005  Mike Hubbert 116
2006  Ken O’Brien 118
2007  Mike Hubbert 109
2008  Ken O’Brien 121
2009  Ken O’Brien 138
2010  Josie Yeatman 136
2011  Josie Yeatman 147
2012  Noel McVey 146
2013  Noel McVey 135
2014  Debbie Dodd 144
2015  Steven O’Connell 162
2016 Debbie Dodd 135
2017 Stuart McWilliam 166
2018 Stuart McWilliam 180
2019  Steven O’Connell 201
2020 Stuart McWilliam 98 (note no Winter Series due to Covid)
2021 Stuart McWilliam and Steven O’Connell 129 (note shortened season due to Covid)


From parks and streets to bush and forest - there is an adventure for you.

Join Today

Latest OV COVID-19 & Return To Sport News Click Here